Elephant Magazine // Urban Interruptionism / Cover Story / John Devlin

I am very proud to say that I have a ‘cover story’ in the current issue of Elephant magazine, out this week to coincide with Frieze week and the forthcoming season of contemporary art. What’s more, an art movement that I have coined adorns the cover!

To find out more about ‘Urban Interruptionism‘ I will direct you to the piece itself, a 12-page essay featuring many exclusive interviews with and photos by the big players in the scene. The piece reveals a lot about the working practices of the artists, including the various intellectual considerations they all appear to take into account and tries to cover a variety of characters working in the field. I have yet to see the magazine myself but look forward to seeing the other articles in what is consistently my favourite magazine about contemporary art.

As a separate ‘showcase’ in this issue I have interviewed John Devlin who is best known for his Nova Cantabrigiensis project, and with whom I have been in touch with for some years. John and I spoke about his background in Canada and Cambridge and his origins as an artist.

The magazine can be found in all good newsagents (though apparently not in Shanghai, yet!), can be ordered here and previewed online here. Let me know what you think!

One comment on “Elephant Magazine // Urban Interruptionism / Cover Story / John Devlin”

  1. preview all of Elephant issue #16 (including both Andrew’s articles) here http://ca.zinio.com/reader.jsp?issue=416280137&o=int&prev=si


Any thoughts?

