The Very Very Very Best Music of 2016 // The Year of Joyous Undulation

Mid-January is probably cutting it fine in terms of acceptability of such lists, but for me a little something would be missing for the rest of the year without its publication. Positivity, consistency and satisfaction achieved domination of my prosopic emotional flows, with undoubted and great joy elicited from a translatory relocation to Athens, Greece, and I suspect the fact that my listening habits this year were predominantly inward- and backward-looking, rather than overly exploratory, was perhaps balanced by the urge to immerse in this city in other ways.

The Can and Brian Eno back catalogues continued to occupy a large majority of the year’s auditory experience, with Eno’s Before and After Science working its way steadily up my side-list of Eno faves. The Ship was an extremely pleasing arrival, with its appropriately-undulating movements somehow reflecting and familiarly accompanying my proximity to the sea.

I make no pretence to claim that this year’s list is in any way groundbreaking, but simply serves to demarcate those musics that brought me the most. The highly unusual and necessary combination of Justin K. Broadrick & Mark Kozelek that tops the above I think enjoyed heavy rotation due to its tapping into my subdued desperation to be in touch with friends and family abroad: the album is structured as a series of diary entries or letters home, each punctuated by the raw weight of Jesu’s all-annihilating metal. I tried my best to comply.

A semi-voluntary decision not to install internet in my place of residence has certainly contributed to the reason for not publishing a sub-list of Other Favourites as per usual, and so more than ever I remain grateful for publicly-shared alternative and supplementary musical suggestion. I thank you.

MY 16 FAVOURITE ALBUMS OF 2016

1. Jesu & Sun Kil Moon – Jesu & Sun Kil Moon
2. Brian Eno – The Ship
3. Freddie Gibbs – Shadow of a Doubt (strictly 2015)
4. Arca – Entrañas
5. Anohni – Hopelessness
6. James Blake – The Colour in Anything
7. Yves Tumor – Serpent Music
8. Dungen – Häxan
9. Pye Corner Audio – Stasis
10. Zomby – Ultra
11. eMMplekz – Rook to TN34
12. Aphex Twin – Cheetah EP
13. DoCtor MuTantO & Tango Mangalore – Contra Los Vampiros Y Hombre Lobo Discoteca
14. Drake – Views
15. Andy Stott – Too Many Voices
16. Knxwledge – Hexual Sealings Part 9.8

 

Any thoughts?

